Sequoia National Park (photo)

Sequoia National Park

I was 13 on this weeklong trip, so it was 1980 or ’81. Much like Yosemite, the large campgrounds don’t offer you any seclusion, but as kids we had the energy to run pretty far for that during the day. I hopped rocks to get to the middle of the river for this photo, and I’m balanced carefully. We played in the water some days, but it was cold enough to be a unappealing others. There were plenty of bears to keep us on our toes at night. This was my only trip to Sequoia, I’m sad to say. I did get to tour Crystal Cave on the way home though. That is worth taking the time for if you’re there.

Leave a Reply

