Thankful in Adversity

I am at home alone today.  My family scheduled so we could all be present, so we’ll be having a meal Sunday instead of today.  I’m just as glad since I am stuck recuperating from a nasty bout of sciatica.  Holidays are the worst time for this stuff, and it always seems to pop up right then.  You just have to take it in stride.

I am thankful that my health has improved.  I am thankful that there are better days ahead.  I am thankful for each one of my friends that are being so supportive and encouraging in my work for a better quality of life, and reaching my goals.  I am thankful that I am breathing today and above ground, and I am also thankful for my pain medication at the moment.  I don’t have to do it often, but right now it’s a necessary tool – without which I wouldn’t be able to sit up and get out of bed at all.  A few days and I will be pulling out of this.  It’s just rough right now.  It’s temporary.

It is said that there is always something to be thankful for.   I believe that.  I could be focusing on what sucks today, and there is an awful lot that does.  All that would achieve is to make me unhappy and I would probably feel worse physically right along with the down mood.  Today is a very hard day for me, but that’s just another challenge to meet.  These are a part of our physical lives, and we just have to learn how to process and be patient.  I am not by nature a patient person, without a doubt, so this is always a challenge for me to get through.  I can however see my body changing shape from working out.  The more strength and tone I regain, and the stronger my muscles are, the less this will happen.  That is where I place my focus.  I know that I am doing the right things.

It’s crazy, right?  Hike, walk, use the elliptical, the rebounder, cycle, do all kinds of things and I come out okay most of the time.  Then one morning walking around the house, getting dressed, making breakfast, something shifted – unprovoked – and the nerve pinched and here we are.  That’s connective tissue diseases for you.  This is why I have to be so careful about what I eat and stay on an anti-inflammatory routine.  Without that my body has nothing to fight this.  Today I’m leaning very hard on fruit and vegetables.  My little drink blender is getting a workout.  I need all the nutrients I can get.

I hope that you all find your way to be thankful, no matter how your day is spent.  I hope that you have taken time to take care of you, take care of loved ones if they’re around, and get some rest as well.  If you are working, be thankful for the job and income as well.  Provision is something to rejoice over.

Whatever your traditions are, Happy Thanksgiving.

T

Leave a Reply

