Salt is good for you

Very well written, and spot-on. Being that I have dysautonomia, as well as left ventricular hypertrophy, my situation is complex anyway. The fact is when I tried to reduce salt intake in the past, it never reduced my BP and always made me sick. Thankfully I now have proper diagnoses and had a great cardiologist familiar with the issues. I do not eat a processed diet, so other than the small amount of salt naturally occurring in foods, I have to get it from a salt shaker. The real problem in the American diet is not the “sodium content” in those processed foods. It’s the processed foods.

Dr. Malcolm Kendrick

One of the most pervasive and stupid things that we are currently told to do is to reduce salt intake. This advice has never been based on controlled clinical studies, ever. Yet, as with the cholesterol myth, the dogma that we should all reduce salt intake has become impervious to facts. I find that the ‘salt hypothesis’ is rather like a monster from a 1950s B movie. Every time you attack it with evidence it simply shrugs it off and grows even stronger.

Very recently, a study was done in Australia looking at salt intake. Actually it looked at sodium intake, not salt intake. I find this interesting, as no-one that I know eats sodium. In fact, it would be interesting to see someone try. To quote from Wikipedia

‘Sodium is generally less reactive than potassium and more reactive than lithium. Like all the alkali metals, it reacts exothermically…

View original post 924 more words

Leave a Reply

